Happy Worldwide Quilting Day!

Did you know that today, March 15th, is Worldwide Quilting Day? Yippee – a special day devoted to our love of all things quilty.

I celebrated the event by purchasing some gorgeous fabric from a local quilt shop having a 20% off sale this week. I was drooling over the new Sunnyside line by Kate Spain for Moda. You can purchase this fabric online from Fat Quarter Shop if your local shop does not have it.

I didn’t have a specific project in mind until I saw the Reach for the Stars quilt on Dawn’s blog, First Light Designs. This quilt pattern features a medallion in the quilt center, something that I haven’t yet tried in a quilt. The design is by Terry Krysan and can be found in the Quilter’s Newsletter magazine as a 7-part series. Look for the October/November 2013 issue for the fabric requirements and the medallion instructions.

For my quilt, I’m using the Sunnyside line plus 2 Bella Solids (Night Sky and Porcelain) and 1 color weave in turquoise. I’m using Aurifil in Light Sand (#2000) for all the piecing. I really need to get an Aurifil thread color chart so I can pick out the best thread color for the quilting.

Here’s a quick iPhone picture of my medallion before I had it sewn together.

Tiger on Medallion

Tiger on Medallion

I finished sewing the borders onto the medallion this evening and tried to catch the last of the light. These pictures are a little grainy due to the low-light conditions, but I hope you see the beautiful Sunnyside fabrics!

Reach for the Stars Medallion

Reach for the Stars Medallion

Some of my points do not quite match up, but I can see definite improvement in my piecing skills over the last year.

Of course, one of my cat inspectors could not resist sitting on the medallion during my photo session. I could hardly keep him off the fabric so I guess he approves!

Cow the Cat on the medallion

Cow the Cat on the medallion

Once I finish piecing the top for my Star Light Star Bright QAL project, then I hope to be able to work on the next blocks on this Reach for the Stars quilt.

I hope you had a little time to do some sewing today!

Enjoy,
~Jennifer

6 thoughts on “Happy Worldwide Quilting Day!

  1. Pingback: Reach for the Stars Quilt, Blocks 1-3 | the quilted cat

  2. Pingback: Aurifl BOM – April’s Block | the quilted cat

  3. Jennifer!
    I love your color combinations! It is soooo fresh! The turquoise really pops and it is perfectly balanced with the lights and darks.
    I can’t wait to see your other blocks and the finished product!
    Sherri C.

  4. Jennifer, your medallion turned out beautifully! I love how you fussy cut the corner squares and love your choice of coordinates! Thank goodness for (adorable) “inspectors”, right? Quality control is so important 🙂 Happy sewing to you. Keep up your beautiful work! xo

  5. Pingback: Reach for the Stars: Block 6 » First Light Designs

  6. Jennifer, I love your choice of fabrics for Reach for the Stars and I am so excited you are making it! I will be following your progress with great interest!

I love your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.