First Quilt Finish of 2017!

Wow, it’s been a long time since my last blog post! This year, I hope to blog more often than I did last year. I tend to post everyday to Instagram and my poor blog suffers.

Last year, I participated in a monthly bee on Instagram. I was queen bee in August and received 11 Fizzy blocks from the bee members. Several years ago, I painted a cherry blossom mural in my bedroom so I chose colors to match the mural so that I could finally make a bed quilt. I made many more blocks to go with the bee blocks during the fall and winter. I added some borders and finished up the binding today.

I used Aurifil in cream to piece my blocks. For the quilting, I used So Fine 50# weight thread in Silver Screen and silver SuperBOBs for the bobbin.

I’m calling the quilt “Cherry Blossoms.” Here are some pictures of the finished quilt. My husband and I held up the quilt while our son took the outside photos. The back of the quilt features signature blocks from the ladies in the bee.

dsc_0309 dsc_0310

Cherry Blossom quilt on a king-size bed

Cherry Blossom quilt on a king-size bed

Next, I need to make some matching pillow cases with some of the leftover fabric and blocks!

Happy quilting!

~Jennifer

2 thoughts on “First Quilt Finish of 2017!

I love your comments!

