Losing a Dog Friend

Hi quilty friends,

It’s been a rough month for my family since we lost our best buddy, Brutus, to cancer. We had 12 wonderful years with him, filled with many hiking and camping adventures. I miss him, and I feel the loss of his special spirit in the house every day. We do have a 7-month old puppy who is helping to keep our doggy adventures on-going.

Here’s a little collage of Brutus:

Brutus

Brutus

To remember him, I’m making a special quilt designed by Janeen of Quilt Art Designs. If you get a chance, pop on over to her Craftsy store and check out her wonderful foundation paper-pieced patterns! I’m also making her Forest and Lake QAL, which I hope to finish by year’s end.

I started selecting fabrics and making one of the eyes this week:

Detail of dog eye; foundation paper-pieced

Detail of dog eye; foundation paper-pieced

Here’s what that eye section looks like, side-by-side with the foundation:

Dog eye, foundation

Dog eye, foundation

This is going to be a fabulous art quilt, and I really want to finish it over the next month. I need to choose a nice background fabric and several mauve tones for the tongue. Otherwise, I’m pulling all the other fabrics from my stash since they are mostly blacks and tans.

Have you hugged your pet today?
~Jennifer

7 thoughts on “Losing a Dog Friend

  1. Pingback: Dog Memory Quilt | the quilted cat

  2. I don’t have a pet, but I definitely empathize with you on losing yours. He looks like a great dog pal. I love that you are making a quilt to remember him by.

  3. Brutus was such a beautiful boy, inside as well as outside (you can see it in his eyes). I am so very sorry for your loss. I’ve hugged my little Tara today, but I’m going to give her another right now!

  4. Jennifer, reading your post today brought back tears for me. I lost my beloved Recon, an American Bulldog rescue, to vascular cancer this past spring, we had almost 10 years together…I understand your hurt and loss, my heart aches for you as I too have had an extremely hard time missing my best friend. Brutus has crossed over the Rainbow Bridge, he is free of pain and that ugly nasty cancer, I’m sure that my Recon met him, as he was a goofy friendly sorta guy, with his big silly smile, welcoming Brutus…….they are running & playing together, pain and cancer free…saying to each other…we had wonderful lives, but most of all we loved our humans more than they will ever know..& we will be back together again someday…Here’s a few words, that helped me….
    I thought of you with love today Brutus, but that is nothing new. I thought about you yesterday and days before that too. I think of you in silence, I often speak your name. All I have are memories and your picture in a frame. Your memory is my keepsake, with which I’ll never part. God has you in His keeping, but I’ll always have you in my heart.. RIP Brutus…

  5. I’m so sorry to hear this, Brutus was a beautiful dog and sounds like a great companion. Our dog is 12 years old too, which means that he won’t be around for many more years. I dread the day we have to say goodbye. I’ve always given him lots of attention but now it just seems different. I look forward to seeing the progress of the quilt that you are making to remember Brutus, it’s going to be spectacular! Sending hugs to you and your family XO

  6. So sorry for your loss. Yes, I hugged my cocker spaniel, Phoebe today. In 2010 she had a tumor removed in her anal gland. She went through chemo and was almost a year cancer free when they found two tumors in her lymph nodes. She has since developed another one in a lymph node and has to take treatments for a high calcium count. These tumors are inoperable so I’m thankful for every second, hour, day, week, year God gives me with her. Both doctors say they are amazed she’s still with us. We wouldn’t know she had cancer by her actions. May God and your new project comfort you and your family.

I love your comments!

